Annual Dinner a success

On June 8, the Essex County Estate Planning Council held its annual dinner meeting at Tupper Manor on the campus of Endicott College. The keynote speaker for the evening was U.S. Congressman Seth Moulton, who represents Massachusetts’ 6th Congressional District, which includes most of Essex County. Over 80 members and guests attended the dinner, the ECEPC’s signature event.

Council President, John Gebauer, Esq., opened the meeting with a year-end review of the group’s activities. Board member, Peter McManus of Disciplined Alpha, LLC, then introduced Moulton, who opened his talk with some brief comments about his background, core principles and experience in Washington, but saved most of his time to answer questions. Moulton candidly addressed questions about the Trans-Pacific Partnership, VA benefits, the Country’s budget deficit, the Department of Labor’s proposed Fiduciary Rule, Massachusetts’ crumbling infrastructure, economic disparity, the Affordable Care Act and campaign finance reform, among others.

The Council then elected a new slate of officers for the 2015-2016 year, including:

President                      Ed Cahill, JD, CFP of New York Life

1st Vice President        Brian Eddy, MBA, of PortfolioFix, LLC

2nd Vice President       Terasa Marshall, CPA of Anthony & Dodge, PC

Treasurer                      David Strachan, CTFA of Cambridge Trust Company

Secretary                      Stephen Mooney, Esq. of Stephen Mooney Law Offices PC

Additionally, the following Board of Directors was approved for the upcoming 2015-2016 membership year:

One-Year Term Ending May 2016:

Peter McManus
Doug Baumoel
Erin Cooper

Two-Year Term Ending May 2017:

Rich Wallner
George Bowen
James Bonfanti

Three-Year Term Ending May 2018

Joanne MacInnis
Jerry Mahan
Rick Ciolino

Five Council members were also named as nominees for the designation of Accredited Estate Planner. The AEP® designation is an accreditation awarded by the National Association of Estate Planners & Councils that acknowledges an estate planning professional’s experience and specialization in estate planning, and recognizes estate planning professionals who meet stringent requirements of experience, knowledge, education, professional reputation and character. The AEP® designation helps both clients and colleagues understand their belief in, and dedication to, the team concept of estate planning. The nominees were:

Vincent E. Bonazzoli, Esq., of the Family Estate Planning Law Group

George Bowen of Capital Management Partners, LLC

Ed Cahill, JD, CFP of New York Life

Stephen Mooney, Esq., of Stephen Mooney Law Office, PC 

Maureen Trefry of Eastern Bank Wealth Management. 

On behalf of the ECEPC Board of Directors, we hope that all of our members and guests enjoyed the evening. Please check back this week for a gallery of pictures on our Facebook page. And, as always, the Council welcomes your feedback, questions and ideas. Please contact us at or visit our Website,, to find contact information for our leadership team.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s